Cigar Box Guitars Are the Soul Cat’s Meow

Hi!  My name is Dean Moller of Soul Cat Guitar, Uke and Amp and I’m a new member of the Pike Place Producers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m fairly new at the market but I feel as though I’ve found a home here along with a new family of artisan vendors.

The Market is unique, as where else can a business find itself in a location that brings it droves of customers from all around the country and the world every day?

Before Soul Cat, I was a woodworker for over 35 years, along with being a musician and performer for over 35 years.

SoulCat2

I think it’s the synergy of these two parts of my life that have made Soul Cat a success.  I spend a lot of time making sure every single instrument sounds “right,” and I joke that my instruments “sound much better than they deserve to,” but there is a lot of truth to it. I never thought I could get the sound out of my guitars and ukes that I do. I always add that my guitars, “Make you feel like you’re sitting on the porch in the Delta.” And, that’s what musical instruments should be about anyway – they should take you to a place you can’t get to without them.

SoulCat4

I also believe that the Pike Place Market artisans I meet and sell next to help me raise my standards and my wish to do better. I see so much great art at the Market and I’m really proud to be a part of a group like this. I know that the Market is thought of as a craft market (and one can purchase many quality crafts there) but I see the Market as more of a fine art gallery, as the level of skill and creativity required to produce the pieces I see offered is amazing.

And that’s why I’m part of the Pike Place Producers: to help raise the profile of Market vendors and show the reality of our artistry to the world.

So take a second look next time you’re at the Market and see the artist and artisan in the vendor. Then come find me and check out my cigar box guitars and hear a bit of the Delta….

SoulCat3Dean Moller

Soul Cat Guitars

Leave a Reply

