In Search of Carol

photoI have set up next to Carol Chen Lord – Artist – many times here at Pike Place Market. I listened  to her enthusiastically explain her process to visitors who don’t quite know what the medium is that they are looking at. They do know that the colors flow, flocks of birds fly, flowers and grass bend in a soft breeze, dark clouds build up over the mountains, fog lingers over a marsh, sun glimmers on water and bursts into flame as it sets. “I tear paper” she says. “I create a collage.” I wanted to know more about her heart as an artist and introduce her to you through this blog post.

I asked her one question – What is the one thing that you want people to know about you and your art?

“I am here (at Pike Place Market) to be an artist. I mean a real artist. Making art for myself. Not for money. Not for anybody else. And I am glad some people like it enough to pay for it because I don’t like to go hungry.”

Ahh. The simple business plan of many of us here at the market. I also found that Carol has a wonderful sense of humor.

Starlings are doing the dusk dance in the high sky of Washington.  Lights coming our from the houses, so is Mount Rainier, reflecting the last of the sun.
Dusk
Carol: Starlings are doing the dusk dance in the high sky of Washington. Lights coming out from the houses, so is Mount Rainier, reflecting the last of the sun.

“My art is a way to express myself, my feelings, my philosophy, my religions, my soul, my everything – instead of language.  I use colors, shapes and images.”

Carol: I always love red poppy flowers for it's unapologetic rich color. They seem hotter htan the sun they are bathing under.
Sun Bathing
Carol: I always love red poppy flowers for it’s unapologetic rich color. They seem hotter than the sun they are bathing under.

On my Google trail of Carol I discovered that she also eloquently expresses the poetry within each of her “paper paintings”. From an early work titled “Longing” a snowman carrying a suitcase stands on a hill and looks back at a warmly lit house.  That she can achieve this depth of expression with paper torn from magazines is a wonder and a delight.

Snowman is coming home, sweet home, loving home, a home melts him to his bone. Can't stay long. Got to to. Leaving his longing heart home.
Longing
Carol: Snowman is coming home, sweet home, loving home, a home melts him to his bone. Can’t stay long. Got to go.  Leaving his longing heart – home.

When the question is asked “Who are you?” most of us rattle off a list of jobs, accomplishments, relationships.  When this question is asked of most artists it is the time shared with their craft that will reveal at least a part of the answer.

“My tears as a mother, my sentiments about the changing seasons, my humor for life, my love for living, my longing for peace, all this, I hope comes out freely for viewers to respond to.”

Carol speaks of a recent encounter with Robyn Chance, painter and published author of “C is for China”. Ms. Chance stopped by Carol’s table at the market and after some conversation, purchased several of the prints. A connection was made.

“The biggest compliment I have received is when people tell me they feel that they know me after looking through my work.  And when they feel the connection, they invite me into their homes (through their purchase of my art).  So it is not about something “beautiful”. It is about myself, my true self.”

Carol: Two days later she (Robyn Chance)  sent me this picture showing my framed works in her living room. Hooray!
Carol: Two days later she (Robyn Chance) sent me this picture showing my framed works in her living room. Hooray!

I went in  search of Carol and I found her in her art.  My favorite picture is this next one. A playground full of children. A little girl with long black hair streaming behind, swinging as high as she can, legs pumped out as far and straight as she can get them, her face turned up to the sky and laughing in sheer delight.

It's me on my favorite spot - Can you find me? Childhood was never so colorful or carefree, but when I look back, that's how I wanted it to be.
Once Upon a Time
It’s me on my favorite spot – Can you find me? Childhood was never so colorful or carefree, but when I look back, that’s how I wanted it to be.

You can see Carol and her art at Pike Place Market or online at http://www.cclord.com / FaceBook CCLordStudio / Twitter @cclordstudio

All images are Copyright Carol Chen Lord

Kat Allen
Symbols in Art
Handcrafted display art tiles of awareness and inspiration

7 thoughts on “In Search of Carol

    1. Yes… You are sweet! My divorced parents sent me to a boarding school when i was little. They were too busy to visit me. In those lonely days, it was the swing that saved me. Even to this day, a 56 year old, i still can not resist the urge to jump on when i see a swing’s empty seat.

Leave a Reply

